Recall

when it’s all said 
you are gone
and I am left alone
I could forgive you
for forgetting love
but the empty space
still silently recalls
what was said
within these walls
I could forgive you
for forgetting love
the undone places
not yet remade
remain to remind
to be replayed
I could forgive you
for forgetting love
where once sung words
and danced on days
cry out loud
in quiet ways 
I could forgive you 
for forgetting love
starlit and softest
breath placed faces
asked ardent permission 
by urgent glances 
I could forgive you
for forgetting love
the first time when
we talked about love
and fell right in
to the taste of a kiss 
sweet and wanting more
so is the ocean
allowed by the shore
I could forive you
for forgetting love
closing the door 
on the once upon us
our remembered before
but footprints in the dust
listen to regretful whispers 
unremorseful on the floor

Leave a Reply

